THE NIGERIA OF MY DREAM – a poem

The Nigeria of my dream;
where there is stable power supply for like three months; the only cause for interruption is the quaterly routine maintenance which, does not take more than forty minutes.,., before which the power holding company would have tendered an unreserved apology to the Nigerian populace.

The Nigeria of my dream;
where there are reliable hospitals with real facilites capable of providing qualitative health care to the citizenry: fit enough to put the eyes of Mr. President off medical check-ups in Israel.

The Nigeria of my dream;
where muslims and christians live together in unity: where there is harmony between the over two hundred and fifty ethnic groups

The Nigeria of my dream
where Legislators work on part-time such that the cost of running government is at its barest minimum.

The Nigeria of my dream
where House of Representatives Members, Governors, House of Assembly Members and Local Government Chairmen do not hesitate to attend monthly town hall meetings for the sake of rendering account of their stewardship to poor masses who voted them into power.

The Nigeria of my dream
where water flows even in the remotest part of our towns: Where health services are fantastic, where there is electricity and water runs from the taps.

The Nigeria of my dream
where admission to institutions of higher learning is based on merit, not man-know-man.

The Nigeria of my dream
where Universities meet International standard and the least of such rank 25th in world university rankings.

The Nigeria of my dream
where the police on patrol will stop your car, ask for your papers, check it, greet you politely and wish you well.
where the police officer corrects you in love without begging for N20

The Nigeria of my dream
where the dollar sells for N30 and her citizens have little or no need travelling to the white man’s land.

The Nigeria of my dream
where air flights are relatively cheap such that people seldom travel by road and train

The Nigeria of my dream
where thiefing and looting political office holders are publicly executed: where fraudulent contractors are jailed without permutation and combination: where stealing from public coffers is neither fashionable nor attractive

The Nigeria of my dream
where Ikogosi warm spring, Olumo rock and Yankari games reserve are tourist’s havens for foreign nationals; where Jos is like small London and Suleja is devoid of boko haram

The Nigeria of my dream
where the soccer team ranks fifth in FIFA rankings and 1st in Africa

The Nigeria of my dream
where there is a functional social security system

The Nigeria of my dream
where leaders do not find it difficult organising a national diagolue from which the National Assembly brings out a blue print

The Nigeria of my dream
where Mr. President is a good man, bold and ready for the task. He is just charismatic and democratic but firm.
Where Nigerians earlier resolved never to allow shoeless people govern the country again

The Nigeria of my dream

tell me whether these dreams are realistic .,.,.,., achievable or not because
I do not wish to remain a dreamer

3 thoughts on “THE NIGERIA OF MY DREAM – a poem

  1. We can sure attain this dream only if we put the right persons on administratiom. We all have 2 join forces 2 make it happen.

  2. Its achievable with God’s power if right and truthfull persons are in positions of authourity.lets pray for Good leaders to be in power

Leave a Reply

